Home / News (page 4)


33 Members of Longs area G-SHINE/SMG Gang plead guilty


Florence, South Carolina — U.S. Attorney Sherri A. Lydon announced today that less than nine months after 33 Horry County and Myrtle Beach drug traffickers were indicted based on a federal wiretap investigation into the G-Shine/SMG gang, all 33 have pleaded guilty and are being sentenced in federal court.  “When we …

Read More »

City shops for new merchant

Lee Mashburn

By vote, Myrtle Beach City Council and Mayor Brenda Bethune authorized City Manager, John Pedersen to sell the property at 807 Kings Highway to Mashburn Construction. Mashburn Construction has offices in Charleston, Greenville, and Columbia. The company is known for restoring historic buildings. News of the sale upset several downtown …

Read More »

Apache Family Campground offers free pier fishing Aug. 24th

Apache Campground

 APACHE FAMILY CAMPGROUND and PIER  the east coast’s longest wooden pier    14th Annual Customer Appreciation Day Apache Pier Saturday, August 24, 2019 Contact:  Kirsten Hoffman 1-843-449-7323, Activities Director Myrtle Beach, SC – The Apache Family Campground & Pier invites you to join us on our Pier for the 14th Annual Customer …

Read More »

“Citizen Reporting” creates a new normal

Out numbered

Early this morning, local Conway area resident, Shannon Cain, posted her concerns about downtown Myrtle Beach in a Facebook group. The post was viewed by 1,700 locals in just a few hours. See Shannon’s post on FB <here> DISRUPTIVE Shannon is just one of 330,000 Horry County residents sharing news …

Read More »

Years Lived 1969 – 2019

Myrtle Beach

Highlights of an era that transformed everything America, the Baby Boomer generation. On July 20, 1969, American astronauts Neil Armstrong (1930-2012) and Edwin “Buzz” Aldrin (1930-) became the first humans ever to land on the moon. About six-and-a-half hours later, Armstrong became the first person to walk on the moon. Just one month later, …

Read More »

Lindsey Graham sponsors gun control proposal

U.S. Senator Lindsey Graham

After Myrtle Beach Mayor Brenda Bethune made a call for tightening gun ordinances in the City of Myrtle Beach, now Senator Lindsey Graham has announced he is sponsoring his own gun control Federal legislation. A bipartisan proposal by Sens. Lindsey Graham, R-S.C., and Richard Blumenthal, D-Conn., is gaining momentum following …

Read More »

S.C. may finally get justice on John Hardee

Commissioner John N. Hardee

The Feds refused to indict powerful S.C. Senator Hugh Leatherman’s son-in-law, John Hardee. However, Hardee, a former South Carolina transportation commissioner could face new charges in state court.  Hardee served two stints on the Department of Transportation Commission from 1998 to 2007 and from 2014 to 2018. Facts that emerged in …

Read More »