Home / Uncategorized / LOCALS PLAN PARKING FEES PROTEST JULY 1st

LOCALS PLAN PARKING FEES PROTEST JULY 1st

RESIDENTS RIGHTS LEADER ADDRESSES A TAX CHARGED CAROLINA FOREST RESIDENTS IN CAROLINA FOREST

FREE THE BEACH PROTEST WILL BE HELD JULY 1st.

City Government asks county to allow them to lease SPRINGMAID BEACH AREA so as to put up more meters.

Tomorrow,  July 1st at 6 a.m. area residents,  members of the Carolina Forest High School and  Residents Rights Group are asking all locals to call or email the below in protest of new parking meters being placed in the Golden Mile of Myrtle Beach.  The Free the Beach protest begins at 6 a.m.

As of this post,  MyrtleBeachSC.com has reported that the city of Myrtle Beach has been collecting a 1% tax charged to Carolina Forest residents inside the Carolina Forest neighborhood.  It is not legal, by law, to be doing so.  This 1% tax is called the tourist tax and is charged by many retail chains in Carolina Forest.

Just this week,  Mark Kruea,  City Public Information officer,  informed the Sun News that the city also desires to lease county land South of Springmaid beach,  so as to charge local residents meter fees at that location as well.   County leaders balked on this request.

Springmaid

LAST REMAINING FREE PARKING IS LOCATED HERE ON COUNTY LAND

Free Beach Day

Friday, July 1st, please share your concerns by calling or e-mailing at least one of the Horry County Council members listed below. You do not need to be a resident of Horry County to contact them since legally the beach is for all people! Horry County Council has the power to work with the city of Myrtle Beach and make beach access parking the way it should be for all who want to enjoy the beach. So please contact them on “Free the Beach Day”!

Horry County Council Members:
Chairman – Conway
Mark Lazarus- (843) 915-5120 chairman@horrycounty.org

District 1- Little River
Harold Worley- (843) 249-1436 countycouncil@horrycounty.org

District 2- Conway
Bill Howard- (843) 421-2035 howardb@horrycounty.org

District 3- Conway
Jimmy Washington- 843-915-5120 countycouncil@horrycounty.org

District 4- Surfside
Gary Loftus- No phone number loftusg@horrycounty.org

District 5-Surfside
Tyler Servant- (843) 421-7250 servantt@horrycounty.org

District 6- Conway
Cam Crawford- (843) 504-0905 crawfordc@horrycounty.org

District 8 -Conway
Johnny Vaught- (843) 602-5241 jvaught@horrycounty.org

District 9 – Loris
W. Paul Prince- (843) 756-8916 or (843) 450-3585 princep@horrycounty.org

District 10- Loris
Jody Prince- (843) 283-8451 jody@jodyprince.com

District 11 – Aynor
Al Allen- (843) 915-5120 or (843) 602-9243 allena@horrycounty.org

 

 

 

Comments

comments

About David Hucks

Born in 1961, David is a 12th generation descendant of the area we now call Myrtle Beach, S.C. David attended Coastal Carolina University and like most of his family, has never left the area. David is the lead journalist at MyrtleBeachSC.com

Check Also

Past Studies for MB Downtown Redevelopment Corporation Produced Little Results

The Myrtle Beach Downtown Redevelopment Corporation, or DRC, is a department under the umbrella of …