Tuesday, August 16, 2022
86.8 F
Myrtle

New S.C. Law: $600 Fine For “Wake Surfing”

Must read

David Huckshttps://myrtlebeachsc.com
David Hucks is a 12th generation descendant of the area we now call Myrtle Beach, S.C. David attended Coastal Carolina University and like most of his family, has never left the area. David is the lead journalist at MyrtleBeachSC.com

A new law in South Carolina now prohibits “wake surfing” on all South Carolina waters within 200 feet of a dock, a person in the water or an anchored watercraft.

Officials define wake surfing as operating “a vessel that is ballasted in the stern so as to create a wake that is, or is intended to be, surfed by another person.” In other words, to drive boats that are designed or set up to create a significant wake.

Wake Surfing has become very popular along the Intracoastal Waterway and Waccamaw River in Horry County.

The activity is popular on multiple fresh water venues in Georgetown County, S.C.

The new law comes amid increasing popularity in the activity as law enforcement and policymakers looked for ways to keep people and property safe.

Violating the new law is a misdemeanor and generally punishable by fines of about $100 to $600, depending on court fees in each county jurisdiction.

The South Carolina Dept. of Natural Resources regularly patrols state waterways to enforce applicable boating and fishing laws.

Comments

comments

- Advertisement -

More articles

Latest article

- Advertisement -