Horry County passes mandatory face mask ordinance

Must read

David Huckshttps://myrtlebeachsc.com
David Hucks is a 12th generation descendant of the area we now call Myrtle Beach, S.C. David attended Coastal Carolina University and like most of his family, has never left the area. David is the lead journalist at MyrtleBeachSC.com

On Friday, July 3, 2020 at 6 p.m. Horry County Council passed a mandatory facemask ordinance for all locals and tourists county-wide

Horry County includes the cities of Myrtle Beach, North Myrtle Beach, Surfside Beach, Little River, Conway, Loris, Aynor, and Garden City Beach.

Latest Horry County News in your inbox

Swash Transparency 330x200 logo

Stay Informed

The ordinance states that all customers and employees at retail businesses, including grocery stores, pharmacies and hair salons, are required to wear masks.

Restaurant visitors are not required to wear masks, however. The ordinance states that only employees are required to wear masks at dining establishments.

The exemptions to the ordinance includes:

  • Any person who is unable to safely wear a face mask due to age or underlying health condition
  • Any person who is unable to remove the face mask without the assistance of others
  • Those whose religious beliefs prevent him/her from wearing a face mask
  • When law enforcement directs a person to remove their face mask

Anyone who fails to comply could face a $25 fine for the first offense, a $50 fine for the second offense and $100 for the third offense.

Want the latest Myrtle Beach SC news?

Receive Free updates in your inbox.



- Advertisement -

More articles


MyrtleBeachSC, Horry County

news in your inbox.


Swash Transparency 330x200 logo

Latest article

- Advertisement -