Friday, May 24, 2024
79.7 F
Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach Area Chamber Announces New Board Chairman Nominee 2023

Must read

David Hucks
David Hucks
David Hucks is a 12th generation descendant of the area we now call Myrtle Beach, S.C. David attended Coastal Carolina University and like most of his family, has never left the area. David is the lead journalist at

The Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce has announced its nominations for 2023 Board Chairman and new board members.

Ryan Swaim, Dunes Realty nominated for new Chamber Board President

Ryan Swaim of Dunes Realty in Garden City Beach has been tabbed to be the 2023 Chairman of the Board of Directors for the 2023 year.

Swaim will be following Alex Husner of North Myrtle Beach who chaired the group in 2022. By MyrtleBeachSC News estimations, Husner was perhaps the best chairperson to ever serve on the board of directors. Swaim will have big shoes to fill.

Swaim is a huge Clemson fan, family man, cyclist, and highly regarded businessman on the S.C. coast.

Swaim is considered the youngest member of an old guard of Myrtle Beach area property managers. As our news team continues to cover, many of the old guard, including Brittain Resort Hotels, Better Brands Distributors, and Sand Castle Resort Hotels have exited the market. These establishment insiders each sold their firms to outside investors, many of whom are Real Estate Investment Trusts.

These establishment families, however, were the core base behind the Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce, helping the not for profit to become the most powerful political force in Horry County.

MBACC 2023 Board Candidates nominees include:

In accordance with its election bylaws, Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce Nominating Committee has proposed a slate of eight candidates to serve 3-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2023, on the Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce board of directors.

After careful review of several qualified investors, the Nominating Committee believes that the candidates listed below will be excellent additions to the governing body of the chamber. Additional nominees may be offered by signed, verifiable petition of at least 10 percent of active investors of the voting membership of the chamber delivered to the chamber’s main office, 1200 N. Oak St., Myrtle Beach, by 5 p.m. on or before Oct. 28, 2022.

Ryan Swaim with Dunes Realty has been nominated for board chair.

Dr. Michael T. Benson, Coastal Carolina University

President of CCU, Michael Benson

Rarely does a high profile college president choose to serve on a local Chamber of Commerce board. This is a huge score for the Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce.

Chad Carlson, Burroughs & Chapin
Hatton Gravely, YMCA of Coastal Carolina

Lori Heafner, Horry-Georgetown Technical College

Hefner is the Vice President, Institutional, Effectiveness & Development for Horry Georgetown Tech. The Vice President for Institutional, Effectiveness & Development is responsible for strategic planning, institutional effectiveness, grants administration, state and federal reporting, and entity-wide data analysis. This is another huge score for MBACC as their data is among their chief asset.

Mayur Jarem, New Horizon Management

Mark Loos, Tidelands Health

Mark Loos is responsible for operations, daily management and the strategic direction of several key areas within the not-for-profit health system, including surgery services, oncology services and pharmacy services. This includes the network of physician specialty practices providing those services in Horry and Georgetown counties.

Loos has extensive experience in health care management, serving in a variety of roles at multi-hospital health systems in South Carolina, Massachusetts and Ohio, among others. He specializes in operations management, project management, business development and strategic planning.

Bhumi Patel, Burr & Forman LLP

Jay Smith, Prestwick Golf Club

More articles

Latest article

- Advertisement -